Copying Content from One WordPress Blog to Another

I have two WordPress blogs. Something that I have wanted to do for the past few weeks is to copy a page from this blog and add it to my online portfolio blog. I think it makes sense to have my “WR Project” page describing how I did a web page redesign on my online portfolio blog instead of having people click a link to see that page here.

After doing a little research, I discovered there are two ways to do this:

Method 1: Copy and Paste

This is the easy way and works well if you are trying to copy a small amount of information. I just opened up two windows. One window had the page I was trying to copy on this blog, and the other window had a new page ready to be published on my online portfolio blog. I selected the contents of the page I was trying to copy from this blog and hit CTRL + C and then moved over to the new page and hit CTRL+ V (the copy and paste commands). Everything I copied transferred over to my online portfolio blog without a problem.

Method 2: Using the Export and Import Options Under Tools in the Dashboard

If you need to copy your entire blog or a large section of it, you are probably better off going to your dashboard and trying the Export and Import options located under Tools. The Export option will convert your blog content into an XML file that can then be imported into the new blog using the Import option. I did not try this method myself, so I will refer you to this WordPress Support forum page. This page includes additional links that provide more detailed information about the Export and Import options.

As for me, I like to keep things simple. I plan to use the copy-and-paste method for copying blog content as much as possible and use the Export and Import options under Tools as a last resort.

