How to Add a Home Tab to Your WordPress Blog

Months ago, I accidentally deleted the Home tab on my online portfolio blog. A missing Home tab has not really been a problem for the people who visit my online portfolio blog, but it has bothered me for some time. I finally decided to find out how to restore it. I came across a helpful article called “The Home tab” by a WordPress blogger named Panos.

Panos provides several ways to create a Home tab. I decided to use the approach that involves creating and saving a custom header menu by using the Menus option under the Appearance tab in the WordPress dashboard. It worked for me, and I hope it will work for you too.

Before I go, one thing I would like to note about this article is that it divides WordPress themes into three categories: themes with header tabs and built-in Home tab; themes with header tabs but no built-in Home tab; and themes with no header tabs at all. This article was published in 2009, so it does not include new WordPress themes created after that date.

Correction to Note: Panos informed me that current WordPress themes are included.  Please see the comment below.

3 thoughts on “How to Add a Home Tab to Your WordPress Blog

  1. Hi,
    “This article was published in 2009, so it does not include new WordPress themes created after that date.”
    That’s not correct. Please check the blurb at the top right of my blog, as well as the red note in my sidebar.

    Like

  2. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic
    to be actually something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will
    try to get the hang of it!

    Like

Comments are closed.