Using Press This in WordPress

Press-This-Button-opt

Today I experimented with Press This, a mini-application or bookmarklet that is located in the Tools section of the WordPress dashboard under Available Tools.

Press This allows you to quickly add information and media (images or video) from other websites to your blog posts. For example, I used Press This to add the text and link below, which provide more information about this tool:

Press This provides a lightning-fast way to grab text, images, or video from any website and post it to your blog without ever visiting WordPress.com. You can also use Press This to quickly share a link on your blog.

via Press This — Support — WordPress.com.

Using Press This is easier than cutting and pasting from other websites, but I have noticed a few limitations in the short time I have used it:

  1. I could not use Press This to grab information from different websites and place it together in one post. For example, when I tried to include a photo from another website into a blog post with the text and link above, WordPress opened another window with a description and link to the photo and nothing else.
  2. When you hit Press This to bookmark whatever it is you want to grab off the Internet, a WordPress window appears with the bookmarked information. When I saved this post containing information I gathered using Press This, the window disappeared, and I had to sign back into WordPress at the main log-in page just to return to my blog and the post.
  3. I could not get Press This to work in Internet Explorer. Apparently, other people were having a similar problem. However, I easily installed Press This in Firefox. (Note: I had to add this link separately without using Press This.)

Since I tend to add links and text from one website for most of my posts, I will probably use Press This from time to time, but I don’t see an end to the days of cutting and pasting from other websites any time soon.

10 thoughts on “Using Press This in WordPress

  1. I drop a comment each time I like a article on a site or if I have something to add to the conversation.

    It is a result of the fire communicated in the article I read.

    And after this article Using Press This in
    WordPress | imaginenewdesigns. I was moved enough to drop a
    thought 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you tend
    not to mind. Is it simply me or does it seem like a few of these comments look like they are
    left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other sites,
    I would like to keep up with everything new you have to post.
    Could you list all of your public pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Like

    1. I am glad that most of the comments I have received are positive. People are busy doing other things and are learning about WordPress as they go just like me, so I keep these factors in mind when I look at comments and respond to them. The comments I don’t like are spam messages, and I have been getting a lot of those lately.

      I don’t have a twitter feed, Facebook page, or linkedin profile. I have one other WordPress blog besides this one, which is the online portfolio for my graphic design work. The link is located in the Blogroll section of my imaginenewdesigns blog.

      Thank you for visiting my blog, and I hope you have a great New Year! 🙂

      Like

  2. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few
    simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

    Like

Leave a Reply

