Sand Sculptures Revisited

I cannot believe that it is already mid-August, and summer is drawing to an end. To celebrate what is left of summer, I thought I would write a post about a seasonal topic – sand sculptures.

I wrote a post about sand sculptures before, but I decided to take it down because I did not get permission to use the copyrighted photos I included in the post. The good news is that I found some public domain pictures of sand sculptures that I can share with you this week. All of the sand sculptures in this post have an underwater theme.

Female Diver Sand Sculpture

woman-diver-sand-sculpture-file3521249569596
Diver with Camera Underwater Scene

SONY DSC
My favorite part of this scene is the top part consisting of several jellyfish. Here is a close-up of the top:

SONY DSC
Squid Sand Sculpture 

squid-sand-sculpture-opt-file9931249569673

Dolphin Sand Sculpture

dolphin-sand-sculpture-opt-file4011249569720

Marlin Sand Sculpture

marlin-sand-sculpture-file871249569532
Manta Rays Sand Sculpture

manta-ray-sand-sculpture-file5891249570341
As I said in my previous sand sculpture post, I am impressed by the skill it takes to create these beautiful sculptures, but at the same time I am sad about their brief existence because they remind me about the temporary nature of my own existence. I spend so much time and effort creating art and trying to build a good life for myself, yet in the back of my mind I know none of my accomplishments will last. Like these sand sculptures, they will disappear into the past just as I eventually will in the end.

Leave a Reply

