Icescapes

Late fall and winter are my least favorite seasons, but I do have to admit that snow and ice can create some beautiful landscapes. Glaciers, snow on frozen water, and blocks of naturally formed ice are the chilly subjects of the photos featured in this week’s post.

Ice Block Near Jökulsárlón

By Andreas Tille (Own work) [GFDL or CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0], via Wikimedia Commons

800px-IceBlockNearJoekullsarlon-opt

Photo Description:

Ice block at beach near Jökulsárlón, Iceland.

Paldiski Bay

By Ivar Leidus (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

800px-Paldiski_bay_23-03-2013-opt

Photo Description:

Mute swans (Cygnus olor) on the icy Paldiski bay before sunset, Northwestern Estonia.

Eyjafjallajökull

By Andreas Tille (Own work) [GFDL or CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0], via Wikimedia Commons

iceland-icescape

Photo Description:

Gígjökull, an outlet glacier extending from Eyjafjallajökull, Iceland. Lónið is the lake visible in the foreground.

PeritoMoreno005

By Christof Berger (self-made, scanned from slide) [GFDL or CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

395px-PeritoMoreno005-opt

Photo Description:

Perito Moreno Glacier, in Los Glaciares National Park, southern Argentina

After living through a week of  temperatures dropping down to about 25° F overnight, I appreciate the photographers’ determination to take these pictures in spite of the cold. Now I have to return to finishing my homework. I decided to return to school to get a certificate in web design, and I have to finish my final web development project for my beginning web design class, which is due in a few days. Then I get to take a final exam for the same class next week. Stay warm, and I hope to get back to you soon. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

