The Winter Wanderer

Sunset in Kuznetsk Alatau, South Siberia.
Photo Credit: By Dmitry A. Mottl (photographer) & User:Tom_dl (File:Kuznetsk Alatau 2.jpg) [GFDL or CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons
Sunset in Kuznetsk Alatau, South Siberia.
25 February 2008
I can learn so much from you

O ancient land

Wiser than

The reckless realm

Of humankind

Older than

Its fleeting

Joys and triumphs

Stronger than

Its crushing

Brutality and cruelty.

 

The white silence

Of your snowy valley

Covers me

With a mystic veil –

At one with you

I am at one

With those

Who came before me —

The fallen rebel

The persecuted visionary

All felt

This same winter sun

These same harsh winds

That warm and chill me now

An unwanted outcast.

 

Ice, sun, and sky

So beautiful

So elemental

Help me

Cast aside

This miscast role

That hurts and binds me

Help others

See beyond

The misconceptions

That hide

Who I really am

Help all of us

Remember

Forgotten peace.

Leave a Reply

