Fossils

shell fossils
“Shell Fossils” by Petr Kratochvil

 

As I gaze upon you

My mind intertwines

With ancient history

Back to a younger age

When nature freely reigned

And your life was sustained

By a world of

Lush trees

Warm seas

A paradise indeed

Until your story

Came to an end . . .

 

As my fingers follow

Your rough curves and ridges

I trace my fate in you

Though I laugh and breathe now

I won’t be

For eternity

One day

I will reach

The turning point

When life reels

And death rules

Then time peels

My essence away

Leaving only

A shell of myself

Behind.

 

Until then

I must wander upon

The winding way of life

Knowing

All my thoughts

All my dreams

All that I am now

Will not last

And I will

Eventually become

A dim imprint

Of the past.

2 thoughts on “Fossils

    1. Thank you so much for your kind comment and for liking this post, Ralph. I know this poem is sadder than some of the ones I have written lately, but mortality is an unavoidable part of human existence even though we may not like to think about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

