Strange Passage

Waves breaking and a couple walking at sunset December 29, 2013 at the beach of Nørre Vorupør, Denmark.
Nr Vorupoer 2013-12-29 1 cropped.jpg
By Slaunger (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons
Waves breaking and a couple walking at sunset December 29, 2013 at the beach of Nørre Vorupør, Denmark. 29 December 2013, 16:37:20

Strange passage
Across a barren beach
My meandering path
Washed away
By gray water
As I vainly searched
For broken guideposts
Lost long ago
Covered by centuries
Of sea-scoured sand
While seagulls
Circled overhead
Searching the restless ocean
For ill-fated, shoreward-drifting fish.
Bleak confusion reigned
In this swirling scene
Of vanished paths
And hungry souls
Until you
Emerged
Traceless and mysterious
Surreal salvation
From desolation
While I dodged
Life’s stormy waves.

 

14 thoughts on “Strange Passage

  1. A very memorable post and words for me Arlene as it reminds me of the 1990’s when I used to walk the dog along the beach between Bembridge and Culver Cliff on the Isle of Wight, England. There were many stormy days like the photo and I could only do the whole walk there and back on the beach when the tide was going out.
    Happy Sunday my friend 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, poems and other creative work can stir up different memories for different people based on their experiences. I hope the memories of walking on the beach with your dog on the Isle of Wight were happy ones for you. I also enjoyed walking on the beach when I used to live in Florida. It was so peaceful and pleasant being on the shore surrounded by miles of blue water and blue skies. However, I usually went to the beach when the weather was nice and not stormy. 🙂

      I hope you enjoyed your Sunday too, and I hope you have a great week. Thank you for liking my poem and for taking the time to leave some wonderful comments. Take care, Ralph. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Arlene 😀 Thank you so much for your reply. I have also been to Florida. I thought of moving there 3 years ago, but being ill was so expensive, so I bought a place in Spain, next door to where I used to live, same views & friends ! Dangling my feet in the river is the nearest thing to the sea lately.
        Take care yourself and also please have a great week my friend 😀 ❤

        Like

        1. Hello Ralph. You are welcome. 🙂 It’s good to know someone who has visited Florida. I lived there a long time ago when I was a child. It must have changed quite a bit over the years. I can understand why you would want to move there.

          I know what you mean about illness being expensive. My dad is fortunate to have medical insurance because he has to visit his doctors regularly for his various health problems. Some of the prescription medications he takes would cost him hundreds of dollars if he did not have insurance. Office visits, lab work, and physical therapy sessions probably cost a lot of money too.

          It sounds like moving to Spain has worked out well for you. I am glad that you are close to people who care about you. Yes, I am landlocked here in Sacramento too. There is a river that runs through here, and I usually drive by it every week. The water level of the river is pretty low because of the drought.

          Thanks for visiting me again, Ralph. I hope you and your cute cats are doing well. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you so much for your very long and interesting reply Arlene. I am pleased to read that your Dad is covered by insurance. Hopefully they can sort his problems out. I have officially told the hospital via my local doctor that enough is enough. I have already contacted an Alternative Centre in Gibraltar yesterday and am waiting for a reply from them.
            Have a lovely day. Ralph 😀 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          2. You are welcome, Ralph. 🙂 I am sorry to hear that the treatments you have received so far have not been working for you. I can understand your decision to stop them, especially after I read about the awful side effects of those drips on your blog. I hope you have better luck with the alternative medicine treatments. They work for some people. For instance, one of my co-workers at a previous job suffered from a minor health problem (I think it was allergies), and he told me that the only treatment that alleviated the problem was acupuncture.

            I hope you enjoy the rest of your day and week too, and I hope you will get better. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          3. Acupuncture seems to be the favourite suggestion Arlene. It looks like my first choice. Glad it worked for your co-worker. Gibraltar hasn’t replied as yet to my request for treatment, so I’ll just have to wait a while.

            Take care my friend 😀 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

          4. Good luck with the acupuncture treatments if you decide to get them. I hope you hear from Gibraltar soon. Do you know anyone who has tried to get alternative treatments? Perhaps he or she could recommend a clinic or doctor to go to (or even ones to avoid if his or her experience was a bad one). I hope you take care of yourself too, Ralph. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          5. Thank you so much for your great ideas Arlene. I have spent all day sorting things out. I have a two hour appointment next week with an acupuncturist in Gibraltar followed by another 6 sessions as the weeks go by. I hope it works 😀 Have a lovely weekend my friend ❤

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words about this post. This photo made a lasting impression on me too. It seems so timeless and boundless. I wrote this poem based on the photo. Thank you for liking this post and “Otherworldly’ and for following this blog. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

