Barber No More

Delux Barber Shop
Delux Barber Shop
October 2015
Sacramento, California

 

Delux Barber Shop Sign
Delux Barber Shop Sign
October 2015
Sacramento, California

 

Whenever I see closed down shops like this, I find myself thinking about how the shops must have looked when they first opened. I imagine the excitement of the business owner during the grand opening and the hopes and dreams that he or she had in the beginning. I think about the regular customers coming in and out of the shop, sharing their hopes and dreams and maybe their sorrows with the owner and the other regular customers. Then I think about the years passing by and the hard times that might have led to the closure of the shop. Most of the time I feel sad seeing something abandoned, but sometimes it is not bad for something to come to an end. Who misses a lousy job or a miserable relationship? I like to be optimistic and think that the owner moved on to something better.

6 thoughts on “Barber No More

  1. It’s sad to see, isn’t it Arlene ? I remember years ago, when I was last in England, so many small shops closed when the out-of-town big superstores arrived. The empty small shops were taken over mainly by realtors/estate agents or 50p shops. 😦 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean, Ralph. Each of those empty shops once represented someone’s livelihood, and they helped to create a sense of community within a town. The big superstores (we call them “big box stores” here) and dollar stores have moved into Sacramento too.

      I think it is harder to be a shop owner these days than it was years ago. Shop owners nowadays constantly have to worry about shoplifting and/or liability issues if someone gets injured in their shops. Last month, I was in a store shopping for a few last-minute Christmas gifts, and suddenly there was a commotion in the store. I think a store employee was trying to stop a woman from leaving the store with unpaid merchandise. There was a physical struggle between them. Some candy bars fell out of the plastic bag the woman was carrying, and she was yelling various things such as “Stop it!” and “I’ll pay for it!” I did not see what happened after that because I decided to move away from them for my own safety.

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment and for liking this post, Ralph. I enjoy hearing from you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh wow ! I’m glad you did move away Arlene. Probably because I have seen too many US Cop programs on TV. I have seen a raid by Gypsy women on a large store on the Costa del Sol, Spain. About 6 women walked in, collected many bags of nappies and ran off into a van. I was at the other end of the store being checked out. The check out girl pressed a button, shrugged and carried on swiping my items.
        Have a lovely Sunday evening my friend 😀 ❤

        Like

        1. I am glad that I moved away too. I worry that the shoplifter might have a gun, and I don’t want to be in the line of fire! It is difficult to get out of stores here because of the way they design them. To prevent thieves from being able to escape easily, most of the stores have only one front entrance/exit door for customers. Unfortunately, most of the thieves are usually stopped close to the front door, and the rest of the customers are trapped inside unless they decide to use the emergency exit, which is usually connected to an alarm.

          It is not fun witnessing a crime in progress, is it? I am glad that nothing bad happened to you. The way they handle thieves where you are sounds a lot better. Other people in the store are less likely to get hurt. What the gypsy women did reminds me of a few stories I have heard on the news about large groups of people (usually young people) swarming a store to loot it. They call it “flash robbing.” I hope that does not happen here in Sacramento.

          I hope you had a wonderful Sunday, and I hope you have a great week, Ralph. 🙂

          Like

    1. I agree. I admire the independent and entrepreneurial spirit of these small shop owners. However, times change, and sadly many of them probably could not compete with larger and newer businesses. Or the shop owners simply got old and had to retire. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

